Get-Ad Free Access: Join Today!

Porsche Sixt Carrera Cup Deutschland

2024 season poised to launch

Porsche’s longest-running one-make cup is entering its 35th season sporting a new name: the Porsche Sixt Carrera Cup Deutschland will contest eight doubleheader events in five countries in 2024. The season kicks off at the FIA World Endurance Championship (WEC) round in Imola from 19 to 21 April. The teams also completed the official pre-season test days on the Formula 1 circuit in northern Italy. New this season is the outing with the International GT Open Championship on the outskirts of the Hungarian capital Budapest. The calendar also includes six DTM weekends at Oschersleben, the Nürburgring, the Sachsenring and the Hockenheimring, as well as at Zandvoort on the North Sea coast of the Netherlands and the Red Bull Ring in Austria.

GT3 Cup cars

The official race car of the Porsche Sixt Carrera Cup Deutschland is the time-tested Porsche 911 GT3 Cup, powered by a ca. 375 kW (510 PS) flat-six engine. Each weekend consists of two races, each contested just over 30 minutes. The field is made up of 25 registered drivers plus a varying number of guest drivers depending on the event. The youngest is Austrian Kiano Blum, who will be 16 years old at the season opener in Imola.

Nine teams are set to compete

Newcomers to the one-make cup are Target Competition from Italy, who achieved success in the Porsche Carrera Cup Italia, and Team75 Bernhard from Germany’s Rhineland-Palatinate region. The team with DTM experience is owned by former Carrera Cup champion, two-time Le Mans winner and Porsche brand ambassador Timo Bernhard.

The four title winners of the 2024 season remain true to the Carrera Cup Deutschland. Defending champion Larry ten Voorde will tackle the series with the starting number 1. The 27-year-old Dutchman is chasing his fourth title in the Carrera Cup Deutschland for the newly formed Proton Huber Competition team. Theo Oeverhaus, the reigning Rookie champion will continue to race for Bonk Motorsport. ProAm champion Sören Spreng is another seasoned Carrera Cup specialist. He will once take to the wheel of a Cup nine-eleven fielded by the Dutch team GP Elite, last season’s Teams champions. A total of nine nations are represented on the Porsche Sixt Carrera Cup Deutschland grid. The group of newcomers (rookies) consists of ten drivers.

Factory support

Like in previous years, eight young drivers will receive very special support. The Talent Pool for the 2024 season is made up of German drivers Colin Jamie Bönighausen, Theo Oeverhaus, Janne Stiak and Gian Luca Tüccaroglu as well as Dutch drivers Nathan Schaap, Robert de Haan, Senna van Soelen and Dane Alexander Hartvig. Oeverhaus secured the Porsche Carrera Cup Middle East title in the winter, while De Haan won the Porsche Carrera Cup Benelux last season. The youngest member of the Talent Pool is Janne Stiak. The German, who is about to tackle his second Carrera Cup season, recently celebrated his 17th birthday.

Talent Pool (von links): Colin Jamie Bönighausen (D/CarTech Motorsport), Robert de Haan (NL, Team75 Bernhard), Alexander Hartvig (DK/Allied-Racing ), Theo Oeverhaus (D/Bonk Motorsport), Nathan Schaap (NL/Allied-Racing), Janne Stiak (D/Team75 Bernhard), Gian Luca Tüccaroglu (D/HP Racing Team (a-workx)), Senna van Soelen (NL/Target Competition)

“I’d like to extend a very warm welcome to Sixt as the new title partner of the Carrera Cup Deutschland. Together we can look forward to a challenging season with 16 races on some very demanding circuits,” comments Hurui Issak, Project Manager Porsche Sixt Carrera Cup Deutschland. “I’m particularly eager to see the performances from the young drivers of the Talent Pool, which includes two very promising reigning champions from other Carrera Cups, to name a few. The high volume of rookies once again underlines the excellent reputation that our one-make cup enjoys on a global scale.”

Car numbers / Drivers

  • 1 Larry ten Voorde (NL)/Proton Huber Competition (D)
  • 3 Nathan Schaap (NL)/Allied-Racing (D)
  • 5 Sören Spreng (D)/GP Elite (NL)
  • 12 Senna van Soelen (NL)/Target Competition (I)
  • 13 Alexander Tauscher (D)/Proton Huber Competition (D)
  • 14 Robert de Haan (NL)/Team75 Bernhard (D)
  • 15 Janne Stiak (D)/Team75 Bernhard (D)
  • 16 Flynt Schuring (NL)/Proton Huber Competition (D)
  • 19 Harry King (UK)/Allied-Racing (D)
  • 21 Marvin Klein (F)/Target Competition (I)
  • 23 Huub van Eijndhoven (NL)/Team GP Elite (NL)
  • 24 Kas Haverkort (NL)/Team GP Elite (NL)
  • 25 Ariel Levi (IL)/GP Elite (NL)
  • 31 Sebastian Freymuth (D)/Team Proton Huber Competition (D)
  • 34 Theo Oeverhaus (D)/Bonk Motorsport (D)
  • 42 Kiano Blum (A)/ID Racing (D)
  • 43 Karol Kret (PL)/Bonk Motorsport (D)
  • 44 James Kellett (UK)/ID Racing (D)
  • 54 Michael Essmann (D)/CarTech Motorsport (D)
  • 55 Colin Jamie Bönighausen (D)/CarTech Motorsport (D)
  • 60 Alexander Hartvig (DK)/Allied-Racing (D)
  • 84 Ahmad Alshehab (KWT)/CarTech Motorsport (D)
  • 88 Horst-Felix Felbermayr (A)/Team Proton Huber Competition (D)
  • 91 Gian Luca Tüccaroglu (D)/HP Racing Team [a-workx] (D)
  • 98 Jan Seyffert (D)/HP Racing Team [a-workx] (D)

2024 Calendar

  • 19 – 21 April: Imola (I), FIA World Endurance Championship WEC
  • 26 – 28 April: Oschersleben (D), DTM
  • 7 – 9 June: Zandvoort (NL), DTM
  • 21 – 23 June: Budapest (HU), International GT Open Championship
  • 16 – 18 August: Nürburgring (D), DTM
  • 6 – 8 September: Sachsenring (D), DTM
  • 27 – 29 September: Red Bull Ring, Spielberg (A), DTM
  • 18 – 20 October: Hockenheimring (D), DTM

All content © 2024 Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG

2023 Racing action